Thursday, February 10, 2011

About Ayurveda, the Science of Life

Ayurveda, meaning the Science of Life,  is said to be the oldest and the traditional medicine system of India.   Ayurveda is a complete system by itself in the sense that it is a qualitative  and a holistic science of health and longevity.  Ayurveda is a philosophy  and has a system of healing the whole person along with the body and the mind.

The origin of the syatem of Ayurveda medicine goes far back  where the philosophy  and the medicine were one and the same and that they were not separate. So, the philosophical views have strongly influenced  the Ayurvedic physicians and their system of medicine. The Ayurveda system of treating a patient is decided on the working models of the unique state  and to project the view of the whole state of health  which will again be unique to each case handled. Ayurveda physicians offer recommendations which are specific and unique to each individual on their  lifestyle, diet, exercise and yoga, herbal therapy. Even spiritual practices  are advised to restore and maintain balance in body and mind. Ayurveda sees a strong connection between the mind and the body. 

Ayurveda system of medicine is based on the meta physics of the five elements  Prithvi / Earth, Aap / Water, Tej / Fire, Akash / Ether and Vaayu / air which compose the universe as well as a human body.  Ayurveda stresses the balance of the three elements vata, pitta and kapha. These three are considered as doshas  and the balanced state of these three doshas are very important for the health of a human being.  Only then the body will be able to function  to the best of its potential and when in an imbalanced state  the body will be affected in a negative way

In Ayurveda there are 20 Guna meaning qualities  and is believed that one has to attain a good digestion and proper excretion by building a good and health metabolic system.   The eight disciplines of Ayurveda Treatmet are Kaaya Chikitsa, Kaumarabhrtyam, Shalya Chikitsa, Shalakya Tantra, Bhuta Vidya, Agadatantram, Rasayana, Vajikaranam.
Will tell you more in the following posts  

No comments:

Post a Comment